The ‘susceptible’ issue: BJP pips Congress with timing in Madhya Pradesh

The names were decided at the BJP’s central election committee meeting on August 16, 2023 which was chaired by party chief J.P. Nadda and attended by PM Modi as well as Union Ministers Rajnath Singh and Amit Shah among other senior leaders.

The names have been determined on the BJP’s central election committee assembly on August 16, 2023 which was chaired by social gathering chief J.P. Nadda and attended by PM Modi in addition to Union Ministers Rajnath Singh and Amit Shah amongst different senior leaders.
| Photograph Credit score: PTI

For lengthy, the Madhya Pradesh Congress has spoken about figuring out susceptible seats and even adopted it up by zeroing on a quantity (66) with one among its two senior-most leaders, former CM Digvijaya Singh, touring these areas. 

But, it was the BJP that used the contours of the identical technique and made the announcement nicely forward of the Congress in seats the place its electoral report has been patchy. It named 39 candidates in its first record for the 2023 Meeting election introduced on Thursday. 

Practically a 3rd of those candidates – 14 – are those that misplaced the election in 2018, some narrowly. For instance, Madhu Verma from Indore’s Rau misplaced by a margin of simply over 5,000 to Jitu Patwari, former working president of the Congress. 

The record consists of 21 names who will contest on reserved seats, amongst them 13 ST and eight SC candidates. There are 13 OBCs as nicely. State BJP chief V.D. Sharma identified that 14 candidates have been beneath the age of fifty, underscoring the emphasis on youth. 

The record additionally comprises two names for Bhopal – Alok Sharma from Bhopal Uttar and Dhruv Narayan Singh from Bhopal Madhya, each constituencies with sizeable Muslim inhabitants and at the moment represented by the Congress’ Arif Aqueel and Arif Masood respectively. 

Amongst them, Mr. Singh is the son of former M.P. CM Govind Narayan Singh. The record consists of at the least three different candidates who’re the relations of senior BJP leaders. Sarla Rawat, who has been fielded from Sabalgarh, is the daughter-in-law of late Meharban Singh Rawat. Neeraj Singh Thakur, contesting from Patan of Jabalpur district, is the son of former BJP MLA Pratibha Singh. Former MLA Manvendra Singh’s son Kamakshya Singh will likely be combating from Maharajpur seat in Chhatarpur district.

Occasion sources additional added that winnability has been the primary criterion with the social gathering additionally factoring in “native join” and the way resourceful the candidate was. 

From Pichhore in Shivpuri, the social gathering has fielded Pritam Lodhi, an OBC chief and relative of former CM Uma Bharti who had made controversial statements in opposition to Brahmins final 12 months, that resulted in his expulsion and subsequent return to the BJP fold.

Adal Singh Kansana, one of many 22 MLAs who joined the BJP together with Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia in 2020, has been fielded from Sumawali in Morena. Whereas the change had helped BJP return to energy once more, Mr. Kansana himself had misplaced within the by-election necessitated by the crossover. 

Leave a Comment