Pakistan recall Ashraf, Shakeel for ODI sequence vs Afghanistan

Pakistan’s Faheem Ashraf. File.

Pakistan’s Faheem Ashraf. File.
| Photograph Credit score: AP

Pakistan on Wednesday named all-rounder Faheem Ashraf and Saud Shakeel of their 18-member squad that can tackle Afghanistan in a three-match ODI sequence in Sri Lanka from August 22.

Pakistan selectors additionally named Tayyab Tahir who’s but to make his ODI debut. The squad can be pruned to 17 for the Asia Cup slated later this month.

Afghanistan are the designated hosts of the sequence, and due to the political turmoil again residence each the Boards have agreed upon a impartial venue in Sri Lanka which may also co-host the Asia Cup with Pakistan.

Whereas Ashraf final performed ODI cricket for Pakistan in July 2021, Shakeel’s final look within the format was in March 2022. Tahir has to date performed three T20Is.

Shan Masood and Ihsanullah are the 2 gamers dropped from the squad, who performed towards New Zealand in a five-match ODI sequence.

The recently-appointed chief selector and former captain Inzamam-ul Haq launched the names of 18 gamers after consultations with crew director Mickey Arthur and head coach Grant Bradburn.

For the Asia Cup, one participant could be dropped from the checklist of 18 gamers whereas two others will in all probability be named as reserves.

The selectors additionally determined to present the in-form Shakeel one other likelihood within the ODIs after he didn’t impress in 5 matches earlier within the format.

Saud, who has scored two centuries and 6 fifties in his first seven Exams, is competing for a spot within the center order with Tayyab, Agha Salman and Iftikhar Ahmed.

That is Tayyab’s second call-up within the ODI facet. His maiden call-up got here forward of the three ODIs towards New Zealand in January.

He not too long ago struck a scintillating century to orchestrate Pakistan Shaheens’ thumping 128-run win over India A within the ACC Males’s Rising Cup remaining.

The squad will assemble in Hambantota on August 18 after the gamers depart for Sri Lanka a day earlier than.

A 3-day camp from August 14-16 can be held on the Nationwide Cricket Academy in Lahore earlier than the crew’s departure.

Pakistan squad: Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam (c), Salman Ali Agha, Iftikhar Ahmed, Tayyab Tahir, Saud Shakeel (just for Afghanistan sequence), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Haris (wk), Shadab Khan (vc), Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi.

Leave a Comment