A number of ticket aspirants might pose choice challenges for the Congress in Chhattisgarh

Congress employees chopping throughout ranks have utilized in massive numbers to contest the Chhattisgarh Meeting polls due in a number of months. With nearly all its 71 sitting MLAs within the 90-member Home re-applying for tickets, many are anticipated to be challenged by their social gathering colleagues. 

Tuesday was the final day for submission of purposes throughout the 307 blocks, however the last compilation continues to be in course of. Whereas some like Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel from Patan are the one candidates from their respective areas, candidates from seats corresponding to Raipur South Meeting (36) are pitted in opposition to a lot of others.

From Ambikapur, which is represented by Deputy Chief Minister T.S. Singhdeo, almost 100 purposes have been obtained, native media claimed. (The Hindu couldn’t independently corroborate this regardless of making a number of calls to the involved). Different Ministers corresponding to Tamradhwaj Sahu, and Mohan Markam, who until lately was a Cupboard Minister, may see some competitors, at the least on paper. 

A brand new entrant, Nand Kumar Sai, a senior tribal chief who lately stop the BJP to affix the Congress, has additionally utilized from three constituencies. Within the working are mayors, nagar panchayat heads, corporators who’ve misplaced elections, and even rank outsiders corresponding to a Chief Judicial Justice of the Peace who stop his job to hunt a ticket from Kanker. 

Satyanarayan Sharma — a veteran of many phrases representing Raipur (Rural) — is lacking from the listing of candidates as he has opted out this time. Nevertheless, his son Pankaj has utilized for a ticket from the identical seat the place once more there are a number of contenders.

Most of those that utilized got here with a lot of supporters in tow to show help. 

On the big variety of aspirants, Mr. Baghel mentioned that almost all aspirants know who’s a probably successful candidate, and when the precise candidate is chosen, the “different candidates are glad”. 

Occasion spokesperson Dhananjay Singh Thakur, himself one of many candidates from Raipur West, mentioned the big quantity mirrored inside democracy throughout the Congress, whereas alleging this was lacking within the BJP, which had up to now named 21 candidates, together with one for Mr. Baghel’s constituency of Patan.

“There’s inside democracy within the Congress the place everybody has the precise to assert to specific their will, and dissent is totally revered. From Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel to frequent employees, all have utilized to turn into Meeting candidates in all of the block organisations of the State — that is the fantastic thing about democracy. BJP leaders and employees are wandering from pillar to publish with purposes to stake declare within the Meeting. Nobody is able to take the purposes. There isn’t any such factor as democracy within the BJP,” Mr. Thakur mentioned.

Leave a Comment