BJP’s first listing of nominations seeks to win an uncle-nephew electoral battle in Chhattisgarh

Chhattisgarh Chief Minister and Congress leader Bhupesh Baghel.

Chhattisgarh Chief Minister and Congress chief Bhupesh Baghel.
| Picture Credit score: PTI

In Chhattisgarh, the spotlight of the BJP’s first listing of nominations for the forthcoming State Meeting elections is its try and nook Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel by fielding sitting Durg MP and former Congress chief Vijay Baghel from Patan in Durg, which the CM represents within the present Meeting.

Sources throughout the BJP stated the celebration believes that fielding Mr. Vijay Baghel is extra appropriate from a caste calculation perspective, an element that may make the competition nearer and compel the Chief Minister to spend extra time in his own residence turf on campaigning.

The 2 have a 1-2 scoreline in Meeting elections. Mr. Vijay Baghel defeated Mr. Bhupesh Baghel within the 2008 Meeting election however misplaced to him in 2013.

Mr. Vijay Baghel, who’s the Chief Minister’s nephew (his great-grandfather and Mr. Bhupesh Baghel’s grandfather have been brothers), was denied a ticket by the BJP within the 2018 Meeting polls. In that election, Mr. Bhupesh Baghel, because the Congress candidate, defeated the BJP’s Motilal Sahu. Nevertheless, within the Lok Sabha elections that adopted, Mr. Vijay Baghel, contesting on a BJP ticket, emerged victorious from Durg, and secured a sizeable lead within the Patan Meeting phase (of the Durg Lok Sabha seat) as nicely.

The names introduced on Thursday embrace 10 Schedule Tribe (ST) candidates and one Scheduled Caste (SC) candidate out of the 29 and 10 reserved seats for STs and SCs, respectively. Among the many remaining, there are six Different Backward Lessons (OBC) candidates, and 5 girls.

Among the many ST candidates is Ramvichar Netam, a former Rajya Sabha member and a former Dwelling Minister of the State. He has been fielded from Ramanujganj, a constituency he has represented prior to now.

One of many key names to be dropped from the listing is Ram Sewak Paikra (61), one other former Dwelling Minister with three a long time of expertise in electoral politics behind him. Mr. Paikra, who misplaced within the earlier elections, has been changed by Shakuntala Singh Porthe.

One other notable absentee on the listing is O.P. Choudhary, a former bureaucrat who made an unsuccessful electoral debut in 2018 from the Kharsia Meeting seat. It’s learnt that Mr. Choudhary, who has gained clout throughout the BJP’s native organisation prior to now half-a-decade, could also be fielded from Raigarh.

In Marwahi, the stronghold of late Chief Minister Ajit Jogi, the BJP has fielded Pranav Kumar Marpachhi. Within the by-election following Jogi’s demise in 2020, Congress’ Krishna Dhruw defeated the BJP’s candidate by 38,197 votes.

Within the listing which options many new faces, together with a minimum of one import every from the Congress and the Janta Congress Chhattisgarh Jogi (JCCJ), the BJP has additionally tried to ship a message to grassroots staff by fielding a sarpanch and a number of other zila parishad members.

BJP State President Arun Sao stated that the listing confirmed the celebration was critical in its intention of successful the elections.

“…Bhupesh Baghel-led authorities has turned Chhattisgarh right into a hub of crime and corruption. It cheated and looted all sections of the State and the event work is at a standstill. The folks of Chhattisgarh have understood that the way forward for the State is protected within the arms of the BJP… Positively, the lotus will bloom in Chhattisgarh in November,” Mr. Sao informed journalists.

Reacting to the BJP’s transfer, Mr. Bhupesh Baghel stated he had learnt {that a} listing had been issued however “there was nothing khaas (particular) in it”.

Leave a Comment