Meeting ballot: Chhattisgarh CM takes dig at BJP’s first listing of candidates

Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel. File.

Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel. File.
| Photograph Credit score: PTI

Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel on August 18 took a swipe on the BJP over the problem of nepotism because the occasion named Vikrant Singh, nephew of BJP chief Raman Singh, in its first listing of candidates for the 2023 Meeting election.

Mr. Baghel’s remarks on a few of the Opposition’s occasion alternatives got here a day after the BJP launched the preliminary listing of 21 candidates. Mr. Raman Singh is Mr. Baghel’s predecessor and BJP’s nationwide vice-president.

“… probably the most stunning is the ticket given to Vikrant Singh. They are saying there isn’t any Parivarwad [nepotism] [in the BJP]. However he’s the nephew of Raman Singh. So, will Raman Singh and his son lose their tickets from BJP? Vikrant Singh getting a ticket signifies that Raman Singh might not get a ticket,” mentioned the CM whereas interacting with journalists in capital Raipur.

Mr. Vikrant Singh, the son of Mr. Raman Singh’s sister, is to contest the polls from Khairagarh, a seat that has for probably the most half been with the Khairagarh royal household. Nonetheless, after the demise of its scion Devvrat Singh, who gained on a Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (J) ticket in 2018, it was Congress’s Yashoda Verma who gained the seat within the by-election in 2021.

“Firstly, their former Chhattisgarh in-charge and former Dwelling Minister, Ram Sewak Paikra, misplaced his ticket. Secondly, O.P. Choudhary [ex-IAS officer] who used to wreak havoc has misplaced his ticket from Kharsia,” the CM added questioning different inclusions and exclusions within the listing.

Mr. Raman Singh in the meantime informed journalists that Mr. Vikrant Singh had labored his approach up throughout his lengthy affiliation with the occasion and the choice was primarily based on advantage.

Mr. Baghel additional questioned the process being adopted by the BJP earlier than finalising the listing which additionally comprises the identify of Mr. Baghel’s nephew and Durg MP Vijay Baghel, who has been fielded from Patan, a constituency the CM has represented a number of occasions since 1993.

In one other election-related improvement on Friday, the Congress introduced numerous committees together with its Election Manifesto Committee, Election Administration Committee, Disciplinary Motion Committee, and Planning and Technique Committee. Three of those committees are headed by Cupboard ministers Mohammad Akbar, Tamradhwaj Sahu and Shiv Dehariya.

Leave a Comment